Sneeze Fetish Forum

Stop forced sterilisation in Sweden

Skiffy

I'm no expert on Swedish law, or trans* issues for that matter, so I'm sorry for making mistakes here and for not explaining things well. If other forum members wanna sweep in and clear things up, that would be awesome.

From what I know- currently in Sweden, all transgender people are required to be surgically sterilised before the state will recognise their gender. They must also be over 18, unmarried and a Swedish citizen. I think these rules might also apply before you can have gender reassignment surgery.

It was recently decided that these laws should be reconsidered, and they have been. But all that's being dropped is the requirement of being a single Swedish citizen. The Christian Democrats (which are the smallest of 4 ruling parties in the coalition) have somehow blocked proposals to get rid of enforced sterilisation, even though the majority of Parliament are in favour of removing it.

This petition, organised by LGBT rights group RFSL, asks the Prime Minister to ignore the conservative minority's demands and to "defend the fundamental human rights of ALL Swedish citizens".

http://allout.org/en/actions/stop_forced_sterilization/

(It's a world-wide petition, you don't have to be Swedish to sign)

It's not entirely clear from the little bit of information on the petition page, but I think that what they are talking about is not forced sterilization in the sense that the law specifically requires or desires sterilization in transgender people, but that in order for you to legally change your gender you are required to undergo genital reconstruction surgery which has the side effect of sterilizing the patient.