Sneeze Fetish Forum

I always have huge trouble...

Miss.A.Tishoo

Okay, aside from the trouble I have actually finishing a story (I think I've only completed two or three in my life time) the most frustrating thing for me is actually beginning them.

Does anyone have any tips on where to begin? I have never had any formal writing training and really am self-taught through looking at the work of others etc. - but the technique of where to begin just eludes me.

Is there a sort of rough guide to how to do it? E.g. begin by describing something/the setting or is it really all about what feels right to you?

Any hints and tips appreciated!

Oh and also - if you were writing an almost silent stifle how would you do it? :huh:

*NOTE: This is by No means the advice of a pro.- I enjoy writing and it is a fun hobby and I'm self-taught.*

When I get really stuck starting things.... I just write. A lot of times I'll have tons of ideas in my head but just can't get it out.

Sometimes I can't make certain things come- I'll try writing and.... NOTHING. But... if I have a pretty strong impression of what I'd like, I start from there and see where it rolls. I start with the type of character that I want and what I want (typically) him to experience.

Recently I hit major writers block with a couple of things- so I was trying to just write Something. I just started typing in my blog. There was a character that I had tossed around but had no idea how to do a story with them. So I just started with an image. And I went from there. It so far is far from a story but it has possiblities for adding and tweaking and such. The other "practice" writing thing that I did actually ended up amazingly enough becoming a complete story *I just about keeled over*

I'm horrid on spellings. I *try* but... that is not something that I'm good at.

And finishing.... UGH! Don't ask me about that. I'm getting better than I used to be, but seriously....