Sneeze Fetish Forum

Sneeze fetish in lecture at KINK show Museum of Sex

Guest KatharineGates

Guest KatharineGates

Hello all:

I am not a sneeze fetishist. I am a Kink-friendly researcher and "erotic philosopher" seeking feedback and comments from all of you for an upcoming lecture at my KINK show at The Museum of Sex as well as for a book I am working on that hopes to go into more detail on the subject of sneeze fetishism.

My name is Katharine Gates and I am the author of "Deviant Desires" a book and (not-much-updated) website deviantdesires.com. I recently curated an exhibition at The Museum of Sex in New York entitled KINK which was an attempt to create a framework for discussing all forms of erotic fantasy. It was based on my Erotic Roadmap: http://deviantdesires.com/map/mappics/map06sm.jpg

As you will see on the map, I have created an area for Sneeze fetish within the theme area "Orgasmic Explosions" and touching on the area I call "Dirty/Clean." In an even more recent version of the map I have designated much of the area surrounding this as the theme called "Metaphors of Arousal and Orgasm". I see the sneeze as being an expression of buildup of tension and explosive release that mimics sexual arousal and orgasm. Part of the appeal it seems to me comes from not only the tension and release element (common to almost every eroticism on the planet) but also the notion of helplessness/powerlessness in the face of bodily functions. One must abandon control for one moment -- it's a kind of liberation. In a way the sneeze fetish also relates to the idea of embarrassment for some fans.

If there were a "core fetish object/substance" for any sneeze fetishists I am guessing it might be the nose, but not for all sneeze fans, am I right?

I am open to comments. Do you think I "get it"?