Sneeze Fetish Forum

Defenceless

Blue Alphonse

So I've had this really simple scenelet floating around in my head for months now (ever since themajoritylied's first guardian angel drawing back in August - I may not be original, but at least I plagiarise from the best), and only now have I finally got round to hammering it out.

Disclaimer: I should apologise in advance for the excessive number of words and the relative lack of, er, content. Also, this is my very first attempt at anything like this, so I beg your indulgence throughout. ;)

-----

The rain hammered the streets as though trying to shatter the flagstones.

The clouds had finally burst around noon, the day going straight from oppressive, suffocating heat to a torrential downpour in a matter of seconds. It had fallen throughout the day without abating, continued into the evening, and now, with midnight well past, there was still no sign of respite. It cascaded across roofs and ran in rivers four inches deep down the streets, forcing the citizens into their homes until the worst had passed.

No one but the most foolhardy or idiotic would be out on a night like this. The braziers that normally lit the streets were long extinguished, leaving the city bathed only in the shimmering light of the full moon overhead. The watchmen who normally patrolled the streets huddled under eaves and buttress, if they even left the warmth of the barracks at all. Tonight, the city belonged to its underworld, and anyone walking its streets without good reason would count themselves lucky to make it home again.

On this night, a lone girl crouched catlike in the shadows of an alley, listening for the sounds of the guards' footfalls and suppressing the urge to laugh out loud.