Sneeze Fetish Forum

Writing Tips?

Melody

Hey so anyone have any tips on writing? (I'm an aspiring writer) and there are so many great writers on this forum that are admirable and I would love to learn from. So if anyone would take the time do any of you have some tips on character development? Plot? Wording? Anything you guys got could be helpful :)

As a lover of creative writing, it's hard for me too give general advice. Tips vary from writer to writer since no writer is the same. I'd have to read something you've written in order to get a feel for your style in order to give constructive criticism. If you want to PM me any draft feel free.

One thing my mom says is "to be a better writer, you have to read books" I never read, I actually hate reading, but I love writing, and people on this site tell me I'm a talented writer--my teacher even tells me. So I don't think reading had anything to do with being a great writer. Sure, I'd just be that much better, but it's not imperative that you become a bookworm to become a writer. You just have to be good at storytelling.

In general I'd say:

1. Don't force anything, meaning if the inspiration isn't there, stop writing, Take a break. Good stories just have a natural flow. If you're sitting for hours trying to come up with plot, it's time to take a break and come back after you've had time to clear your mind.

2. Detail. Every writer and every reader has their own preference. You have to find that happy medium between a beautifully scripted scene and an ongoing panoramic of every little thing the character sees, smells, hears, tastes, etc.