Sneeze Fetish Forum

Did any of you get into med school?

Juniebee

Hi! I'm currently in my 3rd semester of college. Being a doctor has always been my dream, and I had a 3.6 gpa freshman year.

But this year, I had to W orgo chem and take it again ( I have space in my schedule due to ap credit). And I had to W a cell bio class due to a terrible prof ( will retake over summer) Hopefully I will pull myself up after this semester ( i do have 3 more semesters left before I apply to med school). I've heard 1 or 2 W's is not ideal, but with an overall strong gpa and good MCAT score, it's okay. Especially, if you retake the class and do well, explain how you used outside resources, changed your study habits, learned from the experience, etc.

I am searching for a hospital to volunteer at for my clinic hours, currently.I just applied to a nearby hospital, and am waiting to hear back.

My question is, did any of you get into med school? What did your apps look like? Did you have any W's/retakes, etc.? I'd love to know for some comfort right now, lol

Edited by Mwsapphire

I'm a Dr but not an MD. My career choice involved getting into a program that was notoriously selective, and even though I didn't think I would, I got in! I withdrew from a literature class undergrad and took 2 incompletes one semester undergrad as I struggled with drinking and mental health issues. But my GPA was good. I just tried to make myself as unique as possible with my extracurriculars and to come across as "real" as possible, if that makes any sense. I had to take the GRE and did well, but nowhere near perfect! 

I just wanted to reach out to you and quell the uneasiness. If you know that taking a W is the best thing for you in the long run, then by all means, do it! I'm sure it beats the alternative. 

I know my story is pretty vague, but I hope it helps! 

Edited by CharliesGirl
12 hours ago, CharliesGirl said: