Sneeze Fetish Forum

'A Denobulan's week' SS for SleepingPhlox. ST: Enterprise (M)

Mercury

A/N: Sorry for the lateness @SleepingPhlox. I was going to wait until I had more written, but figured maybe posting it in short parts might be fairer to you.
While I'm probably more familiar with ENT than I am with the other 'treks, I've never written in the fandom before. I rewatched Phlox's main episodes, then somehow watched a few seasons without realising. I wish I had a better excuse for being late, but I don't. I got sucked in.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy.

Day One: The Prologue

In general, the Humans aboard the Enterprise seemed to be vulnerable to more pathogens than their Denobulan and Vulcan shipmates. Doctor Phlox had encountered some exceptions to the rule, but Humans were relatively simplistic in their bbiology and particularly vulnerable to some of the most infectious things in the universe, such as the Tblthian measles or unbridled curiosity.

Both the delightful curiosity and physical vulnerability could easily be explained by how new humanity was new to the universe. Humans had only recently acquired warp drive and, from an evolutionary perspective, were quite a young species.

Denoblulans had existed for almost four times as long as the human race, not quite as long as the Vulcans but for a respectable number of generations nonetheless. As such, Phlox’s immune system was hearty enough to withstand the more common ailments that plagued the crew from time to time.

The newness of Humans was perhaps what he enjoyed most about being on the Enterprise. To observe how a species behaved when exposed to an entirely new stimuli was a rare and intriguing experience. The crew, Captain Archer in particular, frequently surprised the doctor with how particularly stubborn and consistently adaptable Humans could be. They seemed to be wonderfully and consistently inconsistent.