Sneeze Fetish Forum

Help Please: Anyone Work in a Doctors Clinic?

uniquelyme

So I work in a doctors clinic as a receptionist and I enjoy the work, however, I don’t know if the way that management treats me is typical of a clinic receptionist. This is my first time working in a doctors clinic so I have nothing to compare it to. Management gets very upset at small things. Monthly, we get reports with every single mistake we made that month and we are to correct these mistakes and write a report on what we can do better next time. Things that pop up on these lists range from forgetting to stamp a document “scanned”, to leaving a blank page in the EMR at the end of a scanned document, to marking a payment as paid by “visa” rather than “master card”. The manager goes over each mistake with us. I understand that these mistakes should be pointed out and corrected, but I feel like management gets a little too aggressive about making sure that we make 0 mistakes. We are human after all. My monthly audit pointed out 12 mistakes (none of which were catastrophes) and my manager said that if I make even half this amount of mistakes next month I will be fired because I am “easily replaced”. Is this normal for working as a receptionist in a clinic? If so, I will learn to manage the stress and keep the job I have. If not, I may consider looking for another place to work. I enjoy the work but I feel like the management of the clinic may not be the type of managers I’d like to have if possible. I’d really appreciate any advice. Thank you. 

1 hour ago, facet said:

I mean, I don't think any of us can tell you whether you should keep a job or not, but if you're getting bad vibes this early on, it's probably not a great sign. Anywhere that tells you that you're expendable (even if it's true) is a major red flag. Imagine if you had a romantic partner that said that to you. Like... nah, mate.