Sneeze Fetish Forum

Writing Non-Fetishy Sickfic— How Much Is Too Much?

AceOfSpades

Hello, writers!

Outside of the fetish, I’m a writer of both fanfiction and original stories, and I’ve taken a stab at writing a few sickfics in the past. But these haven’t ever made it to posting, because I’ve been too concerned about giving myself away— despite sneezing being a core symptom of a cold, it’s so ingrained into me to view it Like This that I’m not exactly sure how much would be seen as weird.

In the past attempts, I’ve tried to either avoid it at all costs, somehow make it relevant to moving the story along (such as breaking up dialogue if the dialogue is too long), and provide minimal descriptions (I’ve gone as far as stating a tickle or a twinge, but I personally think that was rather bold). I have never ever written spelling outside of inherently fetishy stories, either, because I feel like that would immediately give me away as well.

I’m curious… for those of you who also write outside of the fetish, are you comfortable writing unrelated sickfic? And if so, how do you go about including sneezing or related symptoms?

This is very interesting, because the exact same thing happens to me! I am also a writer (of novels rather than fanfic) and I have always wanted (as a nod to myself or to give myself a little satisfaction) to include a scene about sneezing or similar in one of my novels, and I always end up dying of embarrassment and I ended up removing it hahaha.