Sneeze Fetish Forum

Heart, and Soul. (M, One Prompt # Authors 2024)

Skylacticon

Hey. So, this is my first time taking part in this and I want to say thanks to @Reader for organizing and those who've suggested doing it again. :heart:

The prompts were: Cashier, space station, allergies, and basket.

Side note, as someone with a tendency to be a bit hasty about creating and sharing things, not just with writing, I tried my best to take my time with this one. And it feels me. Which, I guess, is the goal. So, I'm excited to have taken part in this, hope you enjoy, and I can't wait to see what the other authors have come up with. :wub:

xxxx

-

There was a print of a human heart diagram at the front of an upright stack in a basket by the door. It was black and white, labelled with an old book style font, something quite beautiful. Alex wondered if anyone was going to buy it - it was a good choice, one of those things that might appeal to anyone who appreciated anatomy or romance or the two combined. It would make for an elegant Christmas gift. That almost made Alex smile - it was the perfect metaphor.

It was unlike the bookstore to be so empty this close to the holidays. Maybe it was a bit early, and people had other errands to run. Roy, the store manager, was away at an office party where his wife worked. He’d talked about his mission of taking his young daughter this year to see Santa, hoping it would go better than the previous year - apparently she’d cried the minute she was placed into the jolly stranger’s lap, and wouldn’t stop until that stranger gave her a present. To Alex, the act of juggling that and having to socialize with his wife’s ritzy coworkers was one she was happy she didn’t have to deal with. Just her, the mousy undergrad worker and the heart diagram in the quiet bookstore. She’d become slightly fond of it, in the past couple of days. At least she had that one to keep her company.